The Edna Sampson Persistence Award


This Award is named in honor of Edna Sampson, Vicki Hinze’s mother, who was a lifelong lover of books and of writers.  It is an annual award started in 2000, sponsored by Vicki Hinze, hosted currently by Ancient City Romance Writers and originally hosted by Gulf Coast RWA.

The award honors an as yet unpublished author who persists at honing his/her writing craft and reaches out to help other writers.   Nominations for this award are taken the first quarter of the year for the preceding year (i.e., 1/1/2011 – 3/31/2011 for year 2010).

To nominate an author for this award:

1. State the specifics on this nominee’s persistence.
2. State the specifics ways in which this author helps other writers.
3. Email this in a single statement to

The annual winner of this award receives a cash reward to assist in pursuing his/her writing and quarterly personal mentoring sessions by Vicki for the next year.


If you would like to nominate an author for this award, nominations for the year 2010 are open from January 1, 2011 until March 31, 2011.

Email your reason for the nomination, along with the author’s  name and contact information to  If you wish to remain anonymous, please state so in your initial email.


One Response to The Edna Sampson Persistence Award

  1. Pingback: WHAT ARE VICKI HINZE’S SPECIAL PROJECTS? « Vicki Hinze Special Projects

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: